Trump, Wire Tapping, and the IRA

Today, the former IRA fighter and latterly politician, Martin McGuinness, died. I do not mourn his passing, as his track record was not something to be admired. But I respect that he believed in a cause, and that he was prepared to fight for it. So I will leave it at that.

The positive side of his death, at least for me, was that the Trump wire-tapping fiasco finally fell off of the news here. Something considered to be more relevant to UK politics had finally happened, so we were spared yet another day of ‘Was he, wasn’t he? Was GCHQ involved’? The constant speculation on our news media.

My opinion is a matter of record. I firmly believe that all presidential candidates, and Presidents, have been systematically wire-tapped, ever since the technology existed to enable it to happen. Certainly since the time of J. Edgar Hoover, and ever since then. It just seems obvious to me, but it has apparently surprised almost everybody else.

I am sick and tired of the constant bat and ball accusations surrounding the alleged Trump phone tapping. I am never going to comment on it again. And I don’t want to hear or read anymore about it. From anyone.

This means that I owe my thanks to Mr McGuinness. He died just at the right time.

16 comments

  1. 2581john

    Pete, I agree with your comments. The media’s interest in this topic seemed odd. Presidential candidates must surely be a target for intelligence agencies as must zillionaires, Oligarchs, and others. Notwithstanding the timing between the lead up to the presidential election with good old Obama doing ‘call me Dave’ a favour by discouraging a ‘leave’ vote (maybe he asked a favour for himself) I would have to ask, if GCHQ weren’t bugging Trump, then why not? It’s their job isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eddy Winko

    I was going to comment, but you don’t want to hear another word, so I’ll keep shtum πŸ™‚ I think you are essentially right though, all communications are ‘held’ then deleted after a period of time, retained for just long enough to pull out the juicy stuff should it be needed. Personally I’m happy with that if it plays some part in preventing terrorist acts. Its just a shame the technology wasn’t around in McGuinness’s heydays!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. democratizemoney

    Since “that” pestilence claim has about run out of steam, it is time for him to tell another whopper. You can be relatively sure 99.999%)the pestilence is incapable of uttering a truth, so the next one will be a whopper too.
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. toritto

    “I am sick and tired of the constant bat and ball accusations surrounding the alleged Trump phone tapping. I am never going to comment on it again. And I don’t want to hear or read anymore about it. From anyone.”

    Me either.

    πŸ™‚ Best from Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to say what you think

